Writing Should Be Yours

I am conflicted. I don’t update this blog as regularly as I’d like to. I think it’s partly due to the fact that I was so very much in love with my old blog that this one feels almost flat compared to it. I spent hours trying to make it look pretty and get everything up to scratch but something about it just doesn’t feel right.

Is it me?

Maybe it’s to do with the fact that this is the blog where I write my ‘professional work’. I miss writing about my interests, about my cat and silly little things that please me throughout the day. Sweet little nothings, if you prefer.

So I’m packing that all in and I’ve decided to go with the flow and do what I like with this.

Writing shouldn’t be restrictive. It should be free, creative and yours. Your own to do with what you wish. My wish is to be free and so I’m wiping away those restrictive bonds that my mind seems to hold onto when looking and writing for this blog.

Take me to the beach. Let’s look at the stars and write stories.

My other blog – my more personal one – is, I will admit, in desperate need of an update. It’s difficult to balance between the two. So perhaps they should just merge into each other. They can be best friends, even. Complement each other when it feels right, but other times be separate when they need to.

I’ll try to update my writing progress more regularly, if not for you guys actually reading it then more for myself. It’s wonderful to keep a diary, and this blog is a diary of sorts, except I’m not going to write my most deep and intimate thoughts and name names of people who fascinate or infuriate me.

Because you never know; it could be you. And that would just be awkward if you knew I was in a passion about you in some way, shape or form. Oops!

Today I’m going to be working towards writing competitions, filling out a writing application to be in a writer’s workshop with novelist Matt Haig, and sub editing for the publication Cornish Story.

So ta-ta for now. I will be reporting back soon!

One thought on “Writing Should Be Yours

Leave a comment